Chiltern Bookshops

The Crooked Mask

£7.99

Author: Rachel Burge

Part ghost story, part murder mystery – a creepy and magical tale steeped in Norse myth, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman. Welcome to the Circus of Myth & Mayhem – where performers re-enact tales of the Norse gods wearing masks which mysteriously change expression, the creepy jester isn’t quite human, and the big top is full of the dead. Martha arrives at the circus, deep in the forests of Northern Norway, determined to learn how Nina died.

Did she fall from the trapeze as Stig said, or was there more to her ‘accident?’ Drawn into a dangerous game of the gods, Martha must look behind the mask and see the truth . . .

before it’s too late. Following the events of THE TWISTED TREE, THE CROOKED MASK continues the story of Martha and Stig as she comes to terms with her magical inheritance. Praise for The Twisted TreeA creepy and evocative fantasy likely to make readers wary of the shadows in the corner of an eye, The Sunday TimesRattles along with proper page-turning pace, The Daily ExpressCreepy and amazing, MTV UKCreates an atmosphere of Stephen King intensity, The Irish ExaminerA terrific read – twisty and scary and instantly gripping, Waterstones (Exeter Roman Gate)A ghost story that will get under the skin of the most hardened reader, Starburst MagazineThe perfect book for cold and wintry nights, prepare to be chilled to your very bones, Culturefly

Select your child's school in the drop-down field below.
ALL ORDERS WILL BE DELIVERED FREE TO YOUR SCHOOL. Select the name of your child’s school from the drop-down menu. Add to Basket. View Basket. Click collect free from the Chorleywood Bookshop OR Gerrards Cross Bookshop (this will ensure free delivery to the school). Proceed to Checkout. PLEASE SPECIFY YOUR CHILD’S NAME AND CLASS IN THE BOX MARKED ‘DETAILS REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL EVENTS’