Chiltern Bookshops

The Liars

£7.99

Author: Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

How can one family have so many secrets?Every year, summer begins when the Callahans arrive on Mariposa Island. That’s when Elena Finney gets to escape her unstable, controlling mother by babysitting for their two children. And the summer of 1986 promises to be extra special when she meets J.C., the new boy in town, whose kisses make Elena feel like she’s been transported to a new world.

Joaquin Finney can’t imagine why anyone would want to come to Mariposa Island. He just graduated from high school and dreams about going to California to find his father and escape his mother’s manipulation. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother’s past.

Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Select your child's school in the drop-down field below.
ALL ORDERS WILL BE DELIVERED FREE TO YOUR SCHOOL. Select the name of your child’s school from the drop-down menu. Add to Basket. View Basket. Click collect free from the Chorleywood Bookshop OR Gerrards Cross Bookshop (this will ensure free delivery to the school). Proceed to Checkout. PLEASE SPECIFY YOUR CHILD’S NAME AND CLASS IN THE BOX MARKED ‘DETAILS REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL EVENTS’