The Women’s Prize for Fiction

Posted on 24th April 2024

The Women’s Prize for Fiction – 2024 Shortlist

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is one of the most successful, influential and popular literary prizes in the world, championing and amplifying women’s voices and nurturing a global community of readers. The Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best full-length novel of the year written in English and published in the UK, and this year’s shortlist has just been announced!

The shortlisted books are as follows:

  • The Wren, The Wren by Anne Enright
  • Brotherless Night by V. V. Ganeshananthan
  • Restless Dolly Maunder by Kate Grenville
  • Enter Ghost by Isabella Hammad
  • Soldier Sailor by Claire Kilroy
  • River East, River West by Aube Rey Lescure

On revealing the list, Chair of judges and author, Monica Ali, described the selection as follows:

“This year’s shortlist features six brilliant, thought-provoking and spellbinding novels that between them capture an enormous breadth of the human experience. Readers will be captivated by the characters, the luminous writing and the exquisite storytelling. Each book is gloriously compelling and inventive and lingers in the heart and mind long after the final page.”

If you’d like to read any of the books on the shortlist, they’ll be available in our shops. Alternatively, you can buy them from our online shop at Bookshop.Org by clicking here.

The winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on 13th June. Good luck to all the shortlisted writers and publishers!

Browse our selection