The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction

Posted on 28th March 2024

The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction – 2024 Shortlist

Many of you will be aware of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, which has been running for more than 25 years. This year, for the first time, an equivalent prize for Non-Fiction has been established, and the shortlist of six books has just been announced!

The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction celebrates exceptional narrative non-fiction by women, promoting excellence in writing, robust research, original narrative voices and accessibility. The Prize, which showcases women’s expertise across a range of fields, will be awarded annually and is open to all women writers from across the globe who are published in the UK and writing in English. 

The six books that make up the first ever Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction shortlist cover a broad range of subjects – from life writing, religion, art and history, to AI, social media and online politics. What links them is an originality of voice and an ability to turn complex ideas and personal trauma into inventive, compelling and immersive prose. The 2024 shortlist takes readers to new places and introduces new perspectives, offering an alternative lens through which we can examine our past, present and impending future.

The shortlisted books are as follows:

  • Thunderclap by Laura Cumming (Chatto & Windus)
  • Doppelganger by Naomi Klein (Allen Lane)
  • A Flat Place by Noreen Masud (Hamish Hamilton)
  • All That She Carried by Tiya Miles (Profile Books)
  • Code Dependent by Madhumita Murgia (Picador)
  • How to Say Babylon by Safiya Sinclair (4th Estate)

If you’d like to read any of the books on the shortlist, they can be ordered from our bookshops. Alternatively, you can buy them from our online shop at Bookshop.Org by clicking here.

The winner of the Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction will be announced on 13th June. Good luck to all the shortlisted writers and publishers!

Browse our selection