The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction

Posted on 16th February 2024

The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction – 2024 Longlist

Many of you will be aware of the Women’s Prize for Fiction, which has been running for more than 25 years. This year, for the first time, an equivalent prize for Non-Fiction has been established, and the longlist has just been announced!

The Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction celebrates exceptional narrative non-fiction by women, promoting excellence in writing, robust research, original narrative voices and accessibility. The Prize, which showcases women’s expertise across a range of fields, will be awarded annually and is open to all women writers from across the globe who are published in the UK and writing in English. 

This year’s longlist is shown below. From gripping memoirs and polemic narratives, to groundbreaking investigative journalism and revisionist history, these 16 titles will change the way you view the non-fiction section of the bookshop!

  • The Britannias by Alice Albinia (Allen Lane)
  • Vulture Capitalism by Grace Blakeley (Bloomsbury)
  • Eve by Cat Bohannon (Hutchinson Heinemann)
  • Intervals by Marianne Brooker (Fitzcarraldo Editions)
  • Shadows at Noon by Joya Chatterji (Bodley Head)
  • Thunderclap by Laura Cumming (Chatto & Windus)
  • Some People Need Killing by Patricia Evangelista (Grove Press)
  • Wifedom by Anna Funder (Viking)
  • Matrescence by Lucy Jones (Allen Lane)
  • Doppelganger by Naomi Klein (Allen Lane)
  • A Flat Place by Noreen Masud (Hamish Hamilton)
  • All That She Carried by Tiya Miles (Profile Books)
  • Code Dependent by Madhumita Murgia (Picador)
  • The Dictionary People by Sarah Ogilvie (Chatto & Windus)
  • Young Queens by Leah Redmond Chang (Bloomsbury Circus)
  • How to Say Babylon by Safiya Sinclair (4th Estate)

If you’d like to read any of the books on the longlist, they can be ordered from our bookshops. Alternatively, you can buy them from our online shop at Bookshop.Org.

The shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction will be announced on 27th March 2024, followed by the winner on 13th June. Good luck to all the longlisted writers and publishers!

Browse our selection